Wednesday, September 5, 2007

back from another pizza



It seems that I'm such a pizza nut, that everytime we go eating it for lunch I have to post it... and, yes, actually I love pizza very much; but the point is that having pizza for lunch for us is a kind of party, comparing to what we usually have at our refectory ;)This time we went to a restaurant conventioned with our enterprise (it means we don't pay *cool*), where they make a delicious "pan-pizza": it means that they cook pizza in a pan, instead of in an oven. Never tasted it before, before of discovering this place; it's really good, it's smaller and softer than usual pizza.This place is in front of the ruins of "Filadelfia" stadium, the place that hosted all the games of the "Great" Torino (how is called the AC Torino football team until 1949... because at that time they were really the greatest football team in Europe... now it's even hard to call them "a football team" *wicked*). I'm a supporter of FC Juventus (a VERY involved supporter), which is the other Turin's football team (actually the best *lol*), and since there's much rivalry between the 2 teams (exp. from them, it's not that we pay much attention on what they do, since they even play in a lower league... but they absolutely enjoy when we lose some competitions... to be bitchy, I'd say that they do that since they can't enjoy their own wins, so they have to go on others' defeats!! *ok, sorry, I'm way TOO bitchy today*)... it's always kinda weird for me to go eating there, and to take the coffee at the "Great Torino" bar, where my colleagues usually take me (yes, they mostly are Torino's supporters *sigh*) ;) *LOL*BTW at lunch, we didn't talk about soccer, we've talked about Berlusconi :D Man, he's getting always more and more pathetic as time goes by... now this thing that he's flirting with the Finnish minister... and he had to say that in a press conference :S I always want to go hide somewhere whenever that man opens his mouth: I wonder which kind of bad figure he makes Italy do abroad :_( *elections, we want elections*And I wonder: since he's been the chairman of the most important communication lobby of the country, he should have on his side the most gifted communication/pr experts of Italy... so why, why he keeps on saying loads of bulls**t in his speechs?? I guess it's because he thinks to be very intelligent and funny, so he wants to do by his own :P*nerd*...Mmmm, I've put the water's bottle on the air conditioner, and actually it's got much fresher. It's another idea whose copyright goes to the cabinotto. I must admit it's sometimes useful to have such a charachter in the office, even if he keeps on stealing stuff to everybody. And almost anyone can't stand him, even if he's just arrived since less than 2 months :P

Tuesday, September 4, 2007

mumbling and mumbling



Actually I don't have anything serious to say (well... have I ever?! *lol*), but I'm waiting for my colleagues to go to lunch, and, since I've just finished a tough report, I thought it wouldn't have been the case to start another one that is gonna be interrupted soon. Or maybe any excuse is good?!? *lol* I have this contradictory feeling, that from one side I would be in the summer mood of doing anything at all (as we say in Italy "cazzeggiare"... that cannot be really translated: maybe it's something embedded in our culture), and, on the other side, I'm still on this adrenalinic-workaholic wave: I think in this whole morning I've had more bright ideas to solve troubles than in the entire past 7 months that I've been here. I can't say I hope it won't cease, because it will; but maybe that it will last long, at least ;)Btw tonight I dreamt my boss wanted to fire me because I didn't solve that thing of the lady that couldn't log to the site: I have a pretty guilty sense of duty :S My boss doesn't even know it since he's in Lisbon, right now. On another conference. He's keeping on doing conferences in the most beautiful European cities... Great job, I want to be a boss too :)Anyway, being workaholic is transforming these days into that kind of days when I'm totally happy and satisfied of having this job... And when I would feel really really upset if I had to lose it...

Friday, August 24, 2007

Saturday, August 18, 2007

black cat, black cat!!!



This one looks like La Nera when she wants to be geeky!!

Sunday, August 12, 2007

...workaholic?!?



Today I can finally update a bit, 'tho I'm not that cheerful I used to be this morning, because I just had to phone to a client to find out why she wasn't able to log to one of our sites, and it's been a bit frustrating, because I couldn't fix the problem: I could log in with her userId with no problems but she wasn't able, and couldn't undestand why. Well, it shouldn't even be my job, it's the task of a colleague, but he is on holidays and I should do it for him... and it's been a bit frustrating not succeeding :(This is something that makes me wonder if am I getting workaholic?!? On the past 2 days I've been on a formation course (that's why I couldn't update), and we were supposed to come back home earlier than on a normal working day, but I returned one hour later than usual... and know why?!? Me and other 2 freaks WANTED (and this is the worrying thing: we WANTED it!!) to stay after the course to solve a difficult exercise they gave us and that nobody could solve. At the end we succeed and I was pretty exaltated: is it normal, I'm wondering?!? And is it normal that sometimes, at night, before falling asleep, I think about work's troubles, and, moreover, I sometimes even dream of them?!?! :SWell, maybe the point is that I'm a very stubborn perfectionist, and I'm not satisfied until things aren't solved: now this is particularly about work, but I'm usually like this for everything else. Someone may think it's positive, but I'm not that sure: there things that just CAN'T be solved, or, at least, it is human to fail and to have limits, so I shouldn't get stomachaches every times that something go wrong or that I'm not able to solve a problem... but something deep inside of me can't accept it. I try to, I really try to, but I can't. It's like inside my brain I had a very demanding coach training me, who always wants to win: I used to call him "little Marcello Lippi", when M. Lippi was FC Juventus's coach, because he was behaving exactly like this with the players, and moreover he used to smoke cigar a lot, so I thought it was the reason why my thoughts are sometimes so smoky *yuck*; but now our trainer is Fabio Capello... and, believe me, he's worse... much much worse!!Ps. talking about freaks: I'm starting to think that working in this place can seriously damage your neurons. I've just found out that my French colleague has his national anthem as sound for his phone... *geeeek* I would like to be so patriotic as well ;) ...maybe...

Wednesday, August 8, 2007


I've post...


I've posted this as a commen to something Linda has written, but since it's an old post, maybe not everyone will read it... and I thought it could have been an interesting topic.It's about dubbed movies:Actually I find it annoying as well, even if I'm used since in Italy we JUST have dubbed movies in theaters (not like in France, for example, that you can choose whether to see it dubbed or with subtitles). So when I really really like a movie I always get (hire or buy) the DVD as soon as it comes out, in order to watch the original version: it sometimes changes A LOT, actors can give so much different voice's expressions from the ones given by dubbers!!Then... the ONE thing that take me off the most: Pino Insegno. He's one of the most famous (and gifted, I must admit) Italian dubbers, but... he's most known as tv comician. A VERY silly comician... So, when you hear his voice, you immediately think about his stupid gags; and, when this voice is put on the body of the movie's hero, to me it makes him lack of credibility :SFor example he's dubber of Aragorn... ARAGORN!!! My hero!! Dubbed by a silly comician!!! *boooooh...* I was watching LOTR and shaking my head saying "No, no, no" all the time when Aragorn was speaking :_(Then I got used to it (or, moreover, I realized it was way too stupid to ruin the watch of LOTR because of this!), but when I watch LOTR on dvd (which happens pretty often ^__^) I watch it in the original version: I loooove Viggo's voice!!

Monday, August 6, 2007


I'm in...


I'm in a poetic mood, so I wanted to share with you one of my fave poems, by Jacques Prévert:On frappeQui est là Personne C'est simplement mon coeur qui bat Qui bat très fort A cause de toi Mais dehors La petite main de bronze sur la porte de bois Ne bouge pas Ne remue pas Ne remue pas seulement le petit bout du doigt....Ok, I try to translate it in English [stuff that I've already done once in my life and it was really hard... I mean, translating from French to English, though it wasn't Prévert, it was just some articles about Orlando Bloom: my Dutch room-mate in London was a BIG OB's fan, she was buying every mag publishing something about him; she was also buying Italian mags that I had to translate to her... and when she knew that I "speak" French it was my doom *lol* ;) ]They're knockingWho is there?NobodyIt's only my heart beating,beating so loudlybecause of youBut outsidethe small bronze hand on the wooden doordoesn't movedoesn't movedoesn't even move the fingertip....Do you like it? ;)